-making chewy granola bars-

Hi guys,

I finally did it. After taking ages saying I will try to make granola bars, today I woke up and decided this is the day. First off I got this recipe from the Gram but tweaked it a little bit to include things that I like; it called for pretzels but since I am not big on them I went with papitas. Check out @pinchofyum, her feed makes you hungry all the time 😋

This is what I used:

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup peanuts
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup papitas
  • 1sp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2sp dried currants and cranberries

Alrighty, to business now.

First mix the oats and nuts in a large bowl. Mix honey and butter in another bowl.

Then combine these two into the large bowl and mix. This was quite a task, I switched from a spoon to a folk and then to a big wooden spoon before deciding to go with the folk. I didn’t time it- will do next time- but this took about 5 minutes. With all the ingredients all mixed, prep your pan. I lined the pan with a parchment paper.

I then divided the mixture into 3 to include two smaller portions with coconut and dried fruits. When this is all done, press the mixture on the pan and put it in the freezer for 30 minutes or thereabouts.

As I waited I made myself a big bowl of salad and read All the Light We Cannot See– a great read that I highly recommend.

After 30 minutes I cut the bars into sizeable bites and taste tested them. So good! Chewy, but sweeter than I’d have wanted so next time I’ll use less honey. I then made myself a coffee to go with two granola bars and saved the others for the week.

I think it was a success!

j.

Leave a Reply

